624

Thanks to Macmillan for sponsoring this week’s Library Comic. Please check out The Grace Year by Kim Liggett, a new YA thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

Tags

9 thoughts on “624”

  1. David Nuttall says:

    Lucy: Oh, you want to look at our e-book collection. Sure, let me show how to access that. First call up our website on your phone. …

  2. Linda says:

    I download almost all of my ebooks from the library (through Amazon). It’s free and easy and I LOVE it.

  3. Bill Michtom says:

    I only use ebooks in an emergency: I misplaced a book last week, so I downloaded the ebook into my kindle app. Another time, an ebook was the only format available.
    If the gods wanted us to use ebooks, they wouldn’t have created trees!

  4. SueB,NH says:

    I have a mix of ebooks & print. The books from one of my favorite authors tend to get fatter and heavier as he nears the end (maybe the end!) of a series. I just can’t hold a 4″ thick, 11″ tall hardback in my hands that long. With an ebook, I don’t have to. And, with my flaky vision, being able to shift the font size and brightness/dimness of the pages as needed is a major plus.

  5. SeanR says:

    For a library book, it may not matter, (but probably does).
    If I have the physical book, I own the book. I don’t lease it.
    Nobody’s going to send a thug around to confiscate my physical book collection, but my e-books could be erased at any time, should the business I “purchased” it from, and the holder of the copyrights come to a disagreement.
    For this reason, if I care about the book, I try to have a physical copy.
    But, yes, once you get used to them*, e-books have many advantages over physical books, and only a few disadvantages, (like, trying to read them without access to power, and the aforementioned weaker consumer protections.)

    * Not being able to reliably recall which quadrant you saw a passage, as you skim through a quarter of the book looking for that passage…which you may not remember the exact phrasing of, is a weakness of ebooks, and will remain one until the e-reader acquires the ability to find passages based on alternate phrasings. That is, until the e-book reader can reply with “I didn’t find ‘he struck powerful, but low blow’, but I did locate one instance of ‘he delivered a devastating, but somewhat ignoble, blow’.”

    1. Gene Ambaum says:

      I’m personally finding that ebooks are easier on the eyes, and being able to search them is a bonus. (I’m probably crazy for having both ebook and book book versions of a lot of my favorites, but there you go.)

  6. LibraryRuss says:

    I have many ebooks I have downloaded/purchased on the cheap. And as they often live on various USB drives until I need them. Since most (95%?) aren’t purchased via Amazon/Kindle’s weird DRM format, I don’t see them being erased by anyone other than myself, via misclick.

    This is of course in addition to the 1000’s of physical books I have, and still acquire.

  7. Lynn Scherzinger says:

    I adore ebooks. Over the last Christmas holiday, I read 5 free books all in the same tiny genre! I was so happy!

    My arthritis was dealing me fits, which is why all the reading… And napping!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.